Nebraska Law Enforcement
Police Officers' Association of Nebraska 
A contributing member of the Law Enforcement Community since 1953.
Police Officers' Association of Nebraska





OCTOBER 12, 2008

MEMBERS PRESENT: Kurt Bottorff, Rick Carmichael, Bruce Felty, Ike Brown, Jim Peschong, Andy Backman, Don Dreyer, Kim Christensen, Jeff Elliott, Andrea Towler and Bill Larsen.




President Bottorff called the meeting to order at 1700 hours.


MINUTES: Minutes from the July 31, 2008 meeting were presented. Jim Peschong made a motion to approve the minutes and Rick Carmichael provided a second. Motion was approved by voice vote.


TREASURER'S REPORT: Treasurer's report was presented. Don Dreyer made a motion to accept the report. Ike Brown provided a second. Motion was approved by voice vote.



•  President Bottorff presented a request from the Vallejo, CA Police Officers Association requesting financial assistance. No action was taken.

•  Correspondence from Kearney was received informing POAN of a study on elderly driving.

•  A request was received from Barbara Dodge requesting someone from POAN to be involved in some educational programs around the State, would involve approximately two meetings a year. Nothing was done at this time.

•  A request was received from another State regarding posting some job openings on our website. Discussion resulted in referring those requests to NLETC and NCJIS.



•  Retirement update: Don Dreyer, Jim Peschong and Kim Christensen. Board was updated regarding ongoing efforts on this issue. One development is that the League of Municipalities was more supportive of a defined contribution plan than a defined benefit.

•  Awards: Jim Peschong

•  Officer of the Year: Sgt. Michael Bassett, Lincoln PD.

•  Hall of Fame: Lt. Colonel Darrell Fisher, NSP.

•  President's Award: Jim Peschong, LPD

Bill Larsen, LPD(Retired)

Past President's: Rick Carmichael, Fairbury.

3. Clipping service: Bruce Felty. Original purpose of this service was for the Magazine, which is no longer published. Jim Peschong made a motion to discontinue this service. Jeff Elliott provided a second. Motion was approved by voice vote.

4. NLEM: Bill Larsen. May 11, 2009 at 1000 hours has been set for the dedication ceremony.



•  Laptop Computer: Kurt Bottorff. President Bottorff presented for discussion purchasing a laptop computer for the President to use and pass on to the next president. Nothing further was done regarding this item.

•  State Fair Update: Kim Christensen. First part of the Fair went very slowly, the end went very well. It is still unknown what was going to happen with the buildings on the Fairgrounds when the Fair moves to Grand Island.

•  Conference update: Bill Larsen. Discussion occurred regarding the Conference account.

•  Election: Jim Peschong is the Chair of the Election Committee. Ballots will be available.

•  Annual Business Meeting: Kurt Bottorff. President Bottorff handed out agenda copies for the Annual Business Meeting(see those minutes).

•  Legislative Update: Jim Peschong. POAN, NSA, FOP, Attorney General's Office and the County Attorney's Association have all been meeting regarding legislative issues for the upcoming legislative session. Purpose is to identify what issues the organizations can work together on.

•  Software Update: Bill Larsen. Michelle has made a request to purchase some software to update POAN's computer. Jim Peschong made a motion to purchase the software updates. Rick Carmichael provided a second. Motion was approved by voice vote.

President Bottorff asked for any other new business, or anything for the good of the order. Nothing else was presented.

The next Board Meeting will be at 0700 on October 15, 2008.

Andrea Towler made a motion to adjourn. Jeff Elliott provided a second. Motion was approved by voice vote.

Meeting was adjourned at 1835.

Respectfully submitted,


William H. Larsen



© 2010 Police Officers' Association of Nebraska. All Rights Reserved.