Nebraska Law Enforcement
Police Officers' Association of Nebraska 
A contributing member of the Law Enforcement Community since 1953.
Police Officers' Association of Nebraska

OCTOBER 4, 2015

PRESENT: Rich Hoaglund, Mark Hogue, Ike Brown, Brian Jackson, Jim Peschong, Shane Wimer, Ryan Dummer, Angela Morehouse, Steve Scott, Bill Larsen, Bruce Felty and Michelle Raphel.



1. Call to Order: President Hoaglund called the meeting to order at 1705 hours.

2. Approval of Minutes: Minutes from the July 15, 2015 meeting were presented. Mark Hogue made a motion to approve the minutes. Shane Wimer provided a second. Motion was approved by voice vote.

3. Secretary/Treasurer report: Treasurer's report was presented. Jim Peschong made a motion to accept the report. Ike Brown provided a second. Motion was approved by voice vote.

6. Old Business:
1. Michelle's job review was discussed. Shane Wimer made a motion to continue her salary at current rate. Jim Peschong provided a second. Motion was approved by voice vote.

2. Vacated Board Position: John Headid has left employment with Fremont PD. Discussion occurred regarding filling the vacancy. Discussion resulted with filling the vacancy during the annual elections during the Annual Business Meeting.

3. Old Manual Covers: with the change in printing of the POAN Manuals, there is a surplus left over from the old covers. Discussion occurred regarding putting them up for sale. Michelle will check on prices to punch holed in paper to fill out the old handbooks.

7. New Business:
1. Telemarketing proposal: President Hoaglund reported he received a proposal from Outreach Calling to do telemarketing for POAN. Their proposal was for 10% or $5,000.00, whichever is greater. Discussion resulted in no motion being made.


2. Fundraising: Discussion occurred regarding fundraising options:
a. Website ads.
b. Membership.
c. Telemarketer.
3. Website: Discussion occurred regarding advertising, connecting to Facebook, checking on the number of visitors, and the possibility of seeking sponsorships for the Organization.

4. Shelly Anderson presented information regarding Wives Behind the Badge. She was allowed to make a presentation during one of the training sessions.

5. Gun Drawing for 2016 Conference: Angela Morehouse presented information about having an additional gun drawing at next year's conference. Discussion also occurred about having a contest for new member referrals during the next year.

6. Election of New Officers: Elections this year would be for two three year terms, Second Vice-President and Secretary/Treasurer. Any other vacancy created by the election of the Second Vice-President.

7. Award Winners:
Officer of the Year: Jeff Bucher, Lincoln Police Departmet.
Hall of Fame: Retired Chief James Livingston, Scottsbluff Police Department(Deceased).
Retired Sergeant William Larsen, Lincoln Police Department.
President's Award: Michelle Raphael.
Past President Award: Assistant Chief Brian Jackson, Lincoln Police Department.

President Hoaglund asked for any other new business, or anything else for the good of the order. Nothing was presented.

Next meeting will be Annual Business Meeting on October 6, 2015 and then the Board meeting on October 7, 2015.

Shane Wimer made a motion to adjourn. Jim Peschong provided a second. Motion was approved by voice vote.

Meeting was adjourned at 1815 hours.

Respectfully submitted:

William H. Larsen


© 2010 Police Officers' Association of Nebraska. All Rights Reserved.