Nebraska Law Enforcement
Police Officers' Association of Nebraska 
A contributing member of the Law Enforcement Community since 1953.
Police Officers' Association of Nebraska





JANUARY 18, 2012

MEMBERS PRESENT: Kim Christensen, Jim Peschong, Jeff Elliott, Andy Backman, Brian Jackson, Herb Evers, Andrea Towler, Ike Brown, Kurt Bottorff, Bruce Felty and Bill Larsen.


President Christensen called the meeting to order at 1130 hours.

MINUTES: Minutes from the October 2 & 5, 2012 Board meetings were presented. Jim Peschong made a motion to approve the minutes. Andrea Towler provided a second. Motion was approved by voice vote.

TREASURER'S REPORT: Treasurer's report was presented. Andy Backman made a motion to accept the report. Andrea Towler provided a second. Motion was approved by voice vote.

LEGISLATIVE BILLS: See posting on website regarding POAN's stances on various bills.


•  Legislative: See above.

•  Membership: Brian Jackson inquired regarding past incentives for new membership. Any recruited new members are given one year free membership. A member who recruits 10 new members is given a free Conference registration.

•  Website: Bill Larsen reported nothing new.

•  Conference: President Christensen, Jeff Elliott and Andy Backman reported things are progressing. Dave Grossman and Jack Enter have been scheduled for sessions.

•  Retirement: President Christensen reported he has receive an indication that a bill for First Class Cities was going to be introduced.


No old business was presented.


•  Jim Peschong presented a request from Joe Jeanette, US Attorney's Office of Nebraska for funding assistance for a Protect Our Children Conference in Omaha, September, 2012. He made a motion do contribute $5,000.00 to assist with the Conference. Jeff Elliott provided a second. Motion was approved by voice vote.

•  President Christensen reported that Doug Provance resigned his Board position. Discussion regarding filling out the last year of Doug's term resulted in Andy Backman making a motion to appoint Ike Brown, Chief of McCook PD, to complete the term. Rich Hoagland provided a second. Motion was approved by voice vote.

•  Telemarketing Contract: President Christensen reported James Carr had contacted him to cancel the current contract effective February 7, 2012. President Christensen indicated he negotiated a new contract with POAN receiving 20 % of solicited monies. Jeff Elliott made a motion to approve the new contract. Kurt Bottorff provided a second. Discussion resulted with a request to James Carr for proper documentation of their income. Motion was approved by voice vote.

•  Health and Human Services request: President Christensen indicated HHS was rewriting DUI/Breath testing guidelines to conform to current procedures and technology developments.

•  Handbook Revisions for 2012: Discussion about continued use of Rob Caples, City of Lincoln Attorney's Office to do the revisions. We will continue using Mr. Caples services.

•  Bruce Felty reported he will be retiring from the Holdrege Police Department effective March 31. 2012. His new e-mail address will be: .

President Christensen asked for any other business, or anything else for the good of the order. Nothing was presented.

The next Board meeting will tentative be April 11, 2012at 1100 hours.

Jeff Elliott made a motion to adjourn. Herb Evers provided a second. Motion was approved by voice vote.

Meeting was adjourned at 1410 hours.

Respectfully submitted,

William H. Larsen